Will work for kudos

Those who follow my nonsense on jaiku and Internet Tablet Talk are aware that my global role with Nokia was… well… deglobalized.  I’m still scratching my head over this supposed non-headcount-reduction (and can’t reveal much in the way of details) that in my case did amount to one less head in the halls of Nokia.

I’ve definitely applied for other internal positions (I have a month left at this writing) in the faint hope that I still have a shot of staying with a great company.  But I’m also preparing for other possibilities and probabilities, ranging from taking the first paying opportunity that falls in my lap to bracing myself for another long stretch of unemployment in a rank economy (the last such stretch lasted 9 months!).

The most difficult aspect of looking for another job is that the one I involuntarily leave is usually the best I’ve had up to that point.  That is certainly true of my recent role, in which I supported around 400 or so claims handlers around the globe in their efforts to manage delivery quality for the number one logistics organization in the world.  That support included applications configuration and user management, logistics process development and improvement, quality systems and data analysis, programming (VB.NET), report systems configuration (Cognos), and many other related duties.  It is precisely that enjoyable mix that makes finding a new opportunity challenging: that sort of role is all too rare!

My essential skills are in Product Data Management (PDM), Product Lifecycle Management (PLM), Change Management and Configuration Management (CM).  Almost everything I have done and love to do revolves around those core information management activities.  For the past year the focus has been on ensuring proper resolution of logistics claims raised by trade customers.  I’m hoping to continue on that path, but I’m also open to other interesting opportunities.  I recently received training in Serena Business Mashups administration and it would be great to leverage that.

One concern about the declining economy is what it could do to wages.  I fully expect erosion of mine based on the experience of the 2000 tech bust, but so far I must say I am seeing some external openings in the same pay range as I currently enjoy so if I land something quickly maybe it won’t be an issue.

But gratification in what I’m assigned to do is one of my main goals.  That has been the hallmark of my three years with Nokia.  I can’t say I enjoyed every single aspect, because we all know that’s not likely, but I can state with conviction that it’s been the best three years of my career life overall.  I learned more in the past few years than I thought possible, and I’m sure I’ll be able to take most of it forward to whatever is next.  If any of you have any prospects, please let me know!  Just leave comments here, thanks.

Update: I was unable to remain with Nokia.  Now up to about 50 job applications…

13 responses to “Will work for kudos

  1. Pingback: A Working Vacuum « Tabula Crypticum

  2. hey, you’ve gotta test also http://maemo.org/news/jobs/ — not so much, yet you might find it tablet-enough to enjoy…

  3. Pingback: The tide is leveling; why aren’t the boats? « Tabula Crypticum

  4. Pingback: Have tablet, will troubleshoot « Tabula Crypticum

  5. Andriy, I have checked those maemo jobs, and I either don’t qualify or can’t work in the location (I am unable to relocate). If only a virtual or Dallas-based maemo job would open up…

  6. Pingback: A surplus of nonexistant workers? « Tabula Crypticum

  7. Wow! Thank you!
    I always wanted to write in my site something like that. Can I take part of your post to my site?
    Of course, I will add backlink?

    Sincerely, Timur I.

  8. Pingback: The jobless saga continues « Tabula Crypticum

  9. Sure, Timur, use anything you like! Glad to help out.

  10. Pingback: Is 2009 the year for open source? « Tabula Crypticum

  11. Pingback: Nokia rediscovers America « Tabula Crypticum

  12. Pingback: Is ‘Americanization’ actually bad for Nokia? « Tabula Crypticum

  13. Pingback: MeeGo Limbo « Tabula Crypticum

Leave a Reply

